Member Area
Forgotten password

AEGPL Sponsored "CEN TC 286" Committee Holds Annual Plenary in Madrid

TC 286 - 457

The AEGPL sponsored, CEN Technical Committee, TC 286 “Liquefied Petroleum Gas Equipment and Accessories”, held its two-day annual plenary meeting in Madrid last week.

The Committee, responsible of the standardization of LPG Equipment and Accessories, prepares product standards related to the transportation, transfer and storage of LPG fuel tanks, cylinders and automotive LPG.

The relationship between the prepared standards and legislation covering activities of the LPG industry means that the work of the Committee is of paramount importance in terms of safety and cost. Consequently, this Technical Committee is sponsored by AEGPL, and is one of the association’s key technical activities. The Committee prepares and drafts product standards specific to LPG equipment and accessories in line with the essential requirements of relevant EU Directives and as well as those to be referenced in the RID/ADR.

The chairman of this CEN / TC 286 is Mr. Tim Barnett and its secretary is Mr. Justin Tallon. AEGPL is represented by it’s Technical Manager, Nikos Xydas as well as through its members across Europe. Every year, the plenary of the CEN /TC 286 takes place in May, where all the year activity is reviewed and discussed and the program for the committee and its different Working Group activities for the following year are agreed. The roles of the various Working Groups are as follows:

WG 1 - Working Group 1 has responsibility for the design and manufacture of LPG pressure vessels (Convenor Mr. John Williams, Flogas)

WG 2 - Working Group 2 has responsibility for the design and manufacture of accessories for vessels designed by Working Group 1 (Convenor Mr. Paul O’Connell, Flogas).

WG 5 - Working Group 5 has responsibility for the operational requirements of the transport of LPG in tanks by road or rail (Convenor Mr. Alexander Stöhr, DVFG)

WG 6 - Working Group 6 has responsibility for automotive LPG systems (Convenor Mr. Salvatore Piccolo, Assogasliquidi)

WG 7 - Working Group 7 has responsibility for operational requirements for both transportable LPG cylinders and static customer tanks (Convenor Mr. Henri François, CFBP)

WG 8 - Working Group 8 has responsibility for producing a standard for the requirements for the design, installation and subsequent maintenance of LPG pipework systems (Convenor Mr. Richard Turski, BP Europe SA).

This year’s plenary, hosted by Repsol at Campus Repsol in Madrid, was attended by 29 experts, representing 12 different countries (Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and United Kingdom).
Members of the TC 286 Committee in Madrid, May 21-22, 2013
Energy competitiveness and the responsibility of leading the European LPG standardization process, nowadays a reference for the entire world, was a key topic for the discussions that were undertaken during this two day meeting.
The full support of the entire European LPG industry of the activities of this Committee, the only one in the world dedicated LPG standardization, is key for the sector.

For reports on the outcomes of the meeting and the relevant WG activities and plans or if any AEGPL member would like relevant experts to participate in the above Working Groups, please contact AEGPL’s Technical Manager, Nikos Xydas, at

AEGPL Congress 2018: Monaco, May 31st - June 2nd

Click below for info on the AEGPL Congress 2018 in Monaco

Read More
AEGPL Annual Review 2017

Click below for AEGPL's Annual Review and other publications

Read More